Full list of Southend Local Election Candidates 2014

southend civic centre

A few thoughts on the statement of nominated persons released today for the Southend local elections 2014:

  • A full slate of 18 candidates fielded by the three major parties: Labour, the Conservatives and the Liberal Democrats.
  • Of the rest UKIP have fielded 12, there are 9 independents (though I’m not sure how many are standing for the Independent Party Group), 3 Green Party candidates, and bizarrely one National Front.
  • I am deeply skeptical about the independent candidate for St Luke’s, whose name is down as ABC. I suspect it’s either a mistake by the returning officer, or (more likely) a cynical ploy to be top of the ballot.
  • I’m not sure what the story is with Andrew Mooring in Eastwood Park, down as representing the “Local Conservatives”. Are the other Conservatives not local then?
  • 12 sitting councillors are standing for re-election (not including Martin Terry, who has resigned his Westborough seat). Two sitting councillors, however, have moved wards: Lib Dem councillor Barry Godwin (from Leigh to Belfairs) and Conservative Fay Evans (from Belfairs to West Leigh)

Sitting councillors are highlighted in italics, Labour candidates in red.


Mo Butler (Conservative Party)

Barry Alfred Godwin (Liberal Democrat) [Currently representing Leigh]

Laura Martin (Labour Party)

Stephen Terrence McKiernan (Independent)


Blenheim Park

Helen Boyd (Conservative Party)

Julian Daniel Esposito (Green Party)

Duncan Francis Russel (Liberal Democrat)

Dean Andrew Trotter (Labour Party)

Floyd Waterworth (UKIP)



Lucy Courtenay (Independent)

Lars Goran Davidsson (Labour Party)

Colin Martin Davis (Liberal Democrat)

Nigel John Folkard (Conservative Party)

Leonard Martin Stanley (UKIP)


Eastwood Park

Norah Theresa Goodman (Liberal Democrats)

Paul Kevin Lloyd (UKIP)

Andrew John Mooring (Local Conservatives)

Jessica Anne Christina Elizabeth Philips (Labour Party)



Richard Andrew Betson (Liberal Democrats)

Simon Ashley Cross (Green Party)

Lawrence Rudyard Davies (UKIP)

Jane Ladner (Conservative Party)

Charles Willis (Labour Party)



Christopher Arscott (Conservative Party)

Carole Mulroney (Liberal Democrat)

Matthew George Lawrence Zarb-Cousin (Labour Party)



Bob Howes (Liberal Democrats)

Vic Lee (Conservative Party)

Edward George McNally (UKIP)

Cheryl Nevin (Labour Party)

Mark Sharp (Independent)



Tino Callaghan (UKIP)

David William Carrington (Labour Party)

Meg Davidson (Conservative Party)

Mike Grimwade (Liberal Democrats)



Jane Anna Dresner (Liberal Democrats)

Roger Hadley (Conservative Party)

Maggie Kelly (Labour Party)

Nick Ward (Independent)



Sue Abrahams (Conservative Party)

Sean Ryan Jones (Labour Party)

Derek George Kenyon (Independent)

Carole Roast (Liberal Democrats)


St Laurence

Lee Darren Burling (UKIP)

Reginald Frederick Copely (Labour Party)

Jonathan James Hodge (Conservative Party)

Ted Lewin (Liberal Democrats)


St Luke’s

ABC (Independent)

Sally Carr (Conservative Party)

Caroline Jane Endersby (Independent)

Gray Daniel Sergeant (Labour)

Pamela Waldie (Liberal Democrats)



James Robin Clinkscales (Liberal Democrats)

Alex Kaye (Conservative Party)

Ian David Pope (Labour Party)

Martin William Terry (Independent)



Margaret Linda Borton (Labour Party)

Peter Breuer (UKIP)

Denis Garne (Conservative Party)

Ian Robert Hurd (Green Party)

Bernadette Jaggers (National Front)

Ronella Streeter (Liberal Democrats)


West Leigh

Christopher John Bailey (Liberal Democrat)

Neil Bettis (UKIP)

Fay Evans (Conservative Party) [Currently representing Belfairs]

Jane Rosemary Norton (Labour Party)


West Shoebury

Tony Cox (Conservative Party)

Matthew Stephen Dent (Labour)

James William Moyies (UKIP)

Charlie Row (Liberal Democrats)



David Burzotta (Conservative Party)

Paul Michael Collins (Liberal Democrat)

Alan Hart (Independent)

Peter Hill (Liberal Democrat)

Kevin Reubin Robinson (Labour Party)

Michael Royston (Labour Party)

Jenny Snoad (Conservative)

John David Stansfield (UKIP)

Carl David William Whitwell (UKIP)



  1. Endersby is the independent party candidate although it is interesting it was chytry during the police and crime commissioner elections, i never did find out why they swapped candidates. It also looks like the ukip, independent party pact is alive and kicking, It will be interesting to see which ukippers like lawrence davies in kursaal and peter breuer in victoria are paper candidates only,


  2. The Eastwood Park Tory is playing an old trick designed to give the false impression that somehow “local” conservatives are not same as Cameron & Osborne or are at arm’s length from the National Conservative Party. Following the Maria Miller scandal can we balme him?
    The most shameless example was Sir Teddy Taylor’s leaflets, posters and circulars for the 1992 General Election, which billed him as “Tried, Tested and True”. Only close scrutiny of the small print revealed that he was standing as the Conservative Party candidate.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s