Stupid boy!


james cottis and nigel farage

If you are a failed Rochford district councillor, making a chicken-run to stand in a local council ward in Southend, you’d think you might be grateful enough to the neighbouring branch of your party to cause them as few problems as possible, right?

Nah!

Not in the case of Conservative candidate for St Luke’s ward, James Cottis, who put the above “selfie” taken with Nigel Farage on his Facebook page. Normally, in such a situation, I would ask if said Conservative politician was intending to defect to UKIP, but I just don’t think that’s likely in this case.

Rather, I suspect, Mr Cottis has just not thought through how damaging it looks to his party, the above mentioned rumours it will inevitably breed, and UKIP’s woefully backwards views on gay rights.

As Capt. Mainwaring might well say: “Stupid boy!”

(Unforgivably, I forgot to mention that this picture, and the story, was Julian Ware-Lane’s initially, and all credit is due to him)

7 comments

    1. I can’t see it happening. Third place last year, Paul van Looy probably the best known of the St Luke’s Indies. Then there’s the idiocy of putting someone who doesn’t live in Southend up against a party whose campaign usually boils down to a single word: “local”.

      In St Luke’s, I’m pretty confident it’s Indie or Labour.

      1. I do hope not. I’m not sure i could take that!

        Indies will get my support, ive attended neighbourhood meetings for the ward occasionally, and having met James cottis i cant imagine him faring well in the issues discussed tbh.

        1. Blimey, have you seen van Looy in the chamber? I am sure he is decent for a cup of tea in the cafe but I wouldn’t trust him with my towns budget.

Leave a Reply

