David Norman for Victoria


david norman

In a move which will surprise absolutely nobody, veteran Labour councillor David Norman has been re-selected by local Labour Party members to contest Victoria ward in the 2015 local elections.

I say that it will surprise nobody, because David is one of the best orators in the chamber, and has achieved more than almost any other councillor in the last year of his term. David is presently a member of the cabinet, with responsibility for Adult Social Care, Health & Housing. In that role he has overseen the building of the first council housing in Southend since the 1980s, as well as a review of the previous Tory administration’s decision to close care homes.

Regardless of your political position, David has been an unambiguous force for good, and a benefit to the town of Southend-on-Sea.

David said,

I have been privileged to have represented the people of Victoria for the past 14 years and have always sought to ensure that their views are heard in the Council Chamber. I have also helped many hundreds of residents with their problems. I would welcome the opportunity to serve for a further term.

Until very recently David was my local councillor. I have never found him to be anything but principled, hard-working and dedicated. He has served his residents diligently for fourteen years, and I hope that they will give him the chance to do so for four more.

3 comments

  1. David is up there as one of the people I respect most of all. Always supportive, never judgmental but hard as a rock prepared to take big decisions. A superb decision by Victoria Labour although as you say I doubt there was any doubt (did anyone even bother to contest it I wonder?)

    1. Victoria ward was (one of the few that was) not contested this year. It is entirely reasonable that it could have been though, since we are blessed with an over-abundance of strong candidates.

      For instance, I won a contested selection for Blenheim Park. I’m not sure when the last time that happened was.

  2. Of course it could be contested, I don’t claim David has a divine right to the seat. A strong field of candidates so far. I am sure we will have some more in the wing soon too.

Leave a Reply

