The cold never bothered me anyway


blenheim leafleting

2014 is almost done, and the period between Christmas and the New Year is usually a time for relaxing and doing not much of anything. Not with Southend Labour, though. Continuing our streak of being the most active political force in the borough, it has been a very busy few days.

For some reason, the cold doesn’t especially bother me. Maybe it’s the doughty northern blood in my veins, or just as my Dad has always said, “No sense, no feeling.”

Whatever, both mornings in the last week that I’ve been out leafleting have been bright, dry, and a colder as hell. Perfect weather for it.

In Blenheim Park, Labour still seem to be the only party out working in the ward. Labour’s parliamentary candidate for Southend West, Julian Ware-Lane, and I made good progress on Monday around the Mendips estate. I have yet to hear any “choice words” from residents, sorry to disappoint Cllr Waterworth.

I’ve yet to see any sign of Cllr Waterworth out talking to residents, either, for that matter…

Elsewhere in the borough, I know that Julian has been very busy. I’m sure he’ll correct me if I’m wrong, but over the festive period he has been campaigning in Blenheim Park, Westborough, Prittlewell, and St Laurence. A Labour team was also out on Sunday in St Luke’s and Gray Sergeant has kicked off his campaign for Milton.

2014 was a great year for Southend Labour, seeing not only the fall of the Tory administration, but our own role emerging in the new joint administration. I am determined that 2015 will bring even better developments, and Labour alone are already out on the streets, knocking on doors and working hard for the people and future of Southend.

Leave a Reply

