45 Days Out: the view from Blenheim Park


matt dent for blenheim park

It was another busy weekend for Blenheim Park Labour, campaigning hard across the ward by taking the novel step of, err, actually talking to people. I remain heartened by the responses I receive when I knock on doors. There are, of course, the few who are not interested, whether in Labour or in politicians in general.

Most, though, are receptive, with their own perspectives on Blenheim Park, Southend, and the country. The number of times that my hand has been warmly clasped as soon as the door opens, with words to the effect of “You’ve got my vote”, outnumbers the times that I’ve had an instant go away. I’ve yet to encounter anyone who has been called upon by any of the other parties — which, at this stage, is disappointing. And the fact that none of the residents I’ve spoken to have been able to name any of their local councillors is even more disappointing.

I did bump into Tory Cllr Lesley Salter, who was delivering leaflets for James Courtenay. A perfectly pleasant woman, and we had a cheerful conversation despite the cold wind, but I can’t help but wonder what it says about the resources of Southend Conservatives if Cllr Salter, up for re-election in her own Belfairs ward, is being drafted in to help James leaflet.

And whilst UKIP PPC Brian Otridge seems confident to the point of arrogance that his party will win a second Blenheim Park seat (They might like to select a candidate, before they start measuring for curtains -Ed), the one person I spoke to who specifically mentioned UKIP was less than glowing.

Well, I had thought about voting UKIP, but around here they’re just a bunch of clowns, aren’t they?

You might very well think that, but I couldn’t possibly comment…

Leave a Reply

