Southend-on-Sea local election candidates 2015

southend civic centre

Nominations for the local elections in Southend-on-Sea closed at 4.00 p.m. yesterday. A third of the council seats are up for re-election in addition to two by-elections. This means that there are 19 seats up for election in total. The election will take place on May 7th, and the deadline for registering to vote is 20th April.

Below is the breakdown of the numbers of candidates standing by party, and the full list of nominated candidates.

Party Seats for re-election Seats contested Overall Seats
Conservatives 11 19 19
Independent 3 15 13
Labour 3 19 9
UKIP 1 8 5
Liberal Democrat 1 19 5
Green Party 0 18 0

(A note on Independents: some independents are more independent than others. Not all of the independents on the ballot paper are part of the official Independent Party Group. Some are genuine independents, such as Lucy Courtenay in Chalkwell, and some seem to be Independent UKIP, such as Alex Moyies in West Shoebury. I will be looking into and trying to clarify this.)


Surname Forename(s) Description
Alston Dave Labour Party
Bolton Barry George Green Party
Dearle David UK Independence Party (UKIP)
Grimwade Mike Liberal Democrat
Mckiernan Stephen Terence Independent
Salter Lesley Pamela The Conservative Party Candidate

Blenheim Park

Surname Forename(s) Description
Coutenay James The Conservative Party Candidate
Dent Matthew Stephen Labour Party
Herbert Richard James Liberal Democrat
Lloyd Paul Kevin UK Independence Party (UKIP)
Wild Jimmy Green Party


Surname Forename(s) Description
Courtenay Lucy Independent
Davidsson Lars Labour Party
Habermel Stephen John The Conservative Party Candidate
Skinner Jessie Edna Liberal Democrat
Walker Peter Green Party

Eastwood Park

Surname Forename(s) Description
Berry Martin Labour Party
Byford Trevor The Conservative Party Candidate
Collins Paul Liberal Democrat
Warman Fiddian Guy Green Party


Surname Forename(s) Description
Betson Richard Andrew Liberal Democrat
Bright Alex The Conservative Party Candidate
Cross Simon Ashley Green Party
McMahon Judith Labour Party
Weaver Verina UK Independence Party (UKIP)


Surname Forename(s) Description
Arscott Bernard Christopher The Conservative Party Candidate
McGurk Christopher Labour Party
Mullet Jon Green Party
Wexhan Peter Liberal Democrat


Surname Forename(s) Description
Cooper Tammy Independent
Garston Jonathan Mark The Conservative Party Candidate
Howes Robert Christopher Liberal Democrat
Mansfield Vida Linzi Green Party
Sergeant Gray Labour Party


Surname Forename(s) Description
Beale Andy Green Party
Borton Tony Raymond Labour Party
Davidson Meg The Conservative Party Candidate
Davis Colin Martin Liberal Democrat
Ryder Paul Martin Independent


Surname Forename(s) Description
Chalk Anne Independent
Hadley Roger The Conseravtive Party Candidate
Kelly Maggie Labour Party
Redican Norman Thomas Liberal Democrat
Smith Susan Green Party


Surname Forename(s) Description
Esposito Julian Green Party
Fisher Roger David Liberal Democrat
Holland Ann Elizabeth The Conservative Party Candidate
Page Barrie UK Independence Party (UKIP)
Sanders Ros Labour Party
Sharman Keith Independent

St Laurence

Surname Forename(s) Description
Buckley Steve The Conservative Party Candidate
Burzotta David The Conservative Party Candidate
Copley Reginald Labour Party
Jones Sean Ryan Labour Party
Lewin Ted Liberal Democrat
McGlone David Charles UK Independence Party (UKIP)
Rayment Tanya Green Party
Roast Carole Liberal Democrat
Walker Denis Green Party
Whitwell Carl David William Independent

St Luke’s

Surname Forename(s) Description
ABC Anthony Brian
Goodman Nora Liberal Democrat
Jarvis Val The Conservative Party Candidate
Jordan Steve Green Party
Philips Jes Labour Party
Van Looy Paul Raymond Independent
Weaver Roger UK Independence Party (UKIP)


Surname Forename(s) Description
Bacon Jon The Conservative Party Candidate
Birks Rod Labour Party
Clinkscales Jim Liberal Democrat
Swanson Liz Green Party
Woodley Ron Independent


Surname Forename(s) Description
Breuer Peter UK Independence Party (UKIP)
Collins Donna Liberal Democrat
Garne Denis The Conservative Party Candidate
Hurd Ian Robert Green Party
Norman David Labour Party


Surname Forename(s) Description
Barrett David Liberal Democrat
Hart Alan Independent
Mansfield Paul Richard Green Party
Peagram Daryl The Conservative Party Candidate
Webb David Graham Independent
Willis Charles Adam Labour Party

West Leigh

Surname Forename(s) Description
Bailey Chris Liberal Democrat
Phillips Georgina Amber Francesca The Conservative Party Candidate
Woods Jay Labour Party
Yapp Sarah Caroline Green Party

West Shoebury

Surname Forename(s) Description
Betson David Robert Liberal Democrat
Carrington David Labour Party
Cox Tony The Conservative Party Candidate
Haydon Margaret Everleigh Independent
Jarvis Derek The Conservative Party Candidate
McNally Edward UK Independence Party (UKIP)
Moyies Alex Independent
Outten Nigel Green Party
Row Charlie Liberal Democrat
Zarb-Cousin Matt Labour Party


  1. Alan Hart is standing as a totally independent candidate not part of Martin Terry’s party, same as Anthony Chitry in St lukes. I am surprised at paul ryder as tino unveiled him as a ukip candidate in their Christmas cards to prittlewell residents


    1. I’m surprised, but Tino is very unhappy with Waterworth and the local UKIP leadership. I guess we’ll find out whether it was the UKIP party brand or Tino’s campaigning which won Prittlewell last year.


  2. My friend ABC in St. Lukes is a genuine Independent even though he is the only candidate where description shows a blank, contesting another Independent of the alliance flavour my friend Paul Van Looy.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s