So apparently I have a clone…


twitter impersonator

So this is a bit weird…

The other day I had a sudden glut of concerned messages about my Twitter account potentially being hacked. It wasn’t, you’ll be pleased to hear, but the truth is looking profoundly stranger.

You see, apparently I have a double. Imitation being the sincerest form of flattery, I’m not sure whether to be pleased or upset. I’m leaning towards the latter.

So what looks like a spam account has duplicated my name (though not the handle, that remains me), my profile picture, and has set about following a whole bunch of the people who follow me. More than a few of whom have contacted me to ask what it’s all about.

The answer? I’ve not got a clue.

Seriously, it hasn’t tweeted, it hasn’t moved, it hasn’t done anything. It’s just sat there. Watching me. Waiting.

I’ve reported it to Twitter, but it seems to be a slow process. In the meantime, make sure that you’re following the real, genuine, honest-to-god, accept-no-imitations Mad Man with a Blog, @MatthewSDent.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

