A letter to James Duddridge MP: keep the Fox Hunting Ban


james duddridge

The following is a letter sent on 11th June 2015 by myself to James Duddridge, MP for Rochford & Southend East; my MP. It was written in response to indications by Mr Duddridge that when a free vote comes before Parliament on the repeal of the fox hunting ban. I will be posting his response here, as and when I should receive one.

If, like me, you believe that the ban should be retained, then you can write to Mr Duddridge yourself, and/or sign this petition calling on him to keep the fox hunting ban.

Dear Mr Duddridge,

I am writing to you, as one of your constituents, in regards to the hunting ban.

As I’m sure you’ll be aware, it is the policy of the government of your government to hold a free vote on the repeal of the fox hunting ban. You may also be aware of the most recent polling on the subject, conducted by YouGov – a company for whom you yourself used to work – showing that a majority of the British public support the ban.

I understand that you have indicated your intention to vote to repeal the ban, contrary to the clear wishes of the public you represent. Whilst I understand that a free vote is un-whipped, I do feel that you should be mindful of the views of those at whose pleasure you serve.

My own views, which I believe to be mirrored in a substantial proportion of the population of Rochford & Southend East, is that fox hunting and other so called blood sports are archaic and cruel, with no fit place in a 21st century society. The idea of causing suffering and death to a living creature as entertainment violates every moral instinct.

I do not believe that there is any rational, logical justification for removing the ban. I believe that most would consider it to have been a success since it came into force, and I urge you to reconsider your position on this matter.

In the interests of transparency and open democracy, I will be posting this letter on my blog. Likewise, I will publish your response with the same prominence. I look forward to hearing from you.

Yours sincerely,

Matthew S. Dent

Leave a Reply

