By-election imminent in Rochford


rochford district council

News reached your blogger this weekend of the sad death of Gillian Lucas-Gill, a councillor on Rochford District Council.

Now, I’m not very intimately involved in the politics of Rochford District (Though I am not without my Rochford-based little birds -Ed), so I wasn’t familiar with Cllr Lucas-Gill. My general belief, though, is that the vast majority of elected councillors give their time and their effort out of a sense of public duty. I didn’t, as I say, know Cllr Lucas-Gill, but I am saddened at her death and thankful for her service.

This does, though, mean there will be a by-election in Rochford ward for Rochford District Council (Keep up… -Ed) in the coming months. As far as I know, no date has been set for the poll, and whoever wins will only serve until all seats are up for re-election in May due to boundary changes.

Nevertheless, the by-election will serve as a useful political barometer, in advance of the main event next year. More details as I receive them.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

