Matt Softly for Rochford ward


rochford district council

I blogged not that long ago about the impending by-election in Rochford District, brought on by the sad death of Conservative councillor Gill Lucas-Gill. The date for that by-election has now been set for 26th November.

The Labour candidate at this by-election will be Matt Softly.

I’ve known Matt pretty much since I moved to Southend, where he was the secretary of the party’s Local Campaign Forum. He now lives in Rochford ward, where he serves on Rochford Parish Council, which in my view makes him the ideal candidate for this by-election. Having served in the dim and distant past as a parish councillor myself, I know how it connects you to the very heart of a community’s concerns.

There is a campaign to come, albeit a brief one, but I am confident in stating that Matt would be the best councillor that the people of Rochford could ask for.

Leave a Reply

